Sorry, no internet for a week…

Dehradun is a lovely place. It reminds me a lot of Nigeria. Naturally, there are a lot of people, the permanent sound of honking in the background, shops on top of shops, people getting barbed on the side of the road, chai tea stops on every street corner and conveniently an ATM on just about every street as well. Same kind of congested traffic, accompanied by less than pristine air quality, cars in every nook and cranny, where there is no car, there is an auto ricksaw (autos), vikram (public transport van), or scooter. I believe there are buses too. Like in Nigeria or New York people are very aware of their cars proprioception or space in time in relation to those around. Thus they can maneuver amazingly well. Often in India, I have found myself on a mountain with a death-defying drop off on my left and another car on my right going in opposite directions on a one-lane highway.   Not something I would fathom trying, but commonplace in the mountains in India. I enjoyed the opportunity to travel independently and use the public transportation system here. The only thing I do not like is the fact that on the vikrams there is no conductor yelling out the stops or direction like in Nigeria so you have to know where you are headed and where to stop. I just told the driver where I was going and he stopped me there. The other foreigners who have been here longer actually recognize things and know where to stop. I haven’t gotten there yet. Another major difference between here and Nigeria is that people stare a lot, which I am not accustom to because in Nigeria I look like everyone else. My host is wonderful; she cooks the best food. The food here is awesome but heavy on the carbohydrate side. Also, I have noticed people use a lot of sugar in their tea and whatever else sugar goes into. I don’t use sugar in America so that was a shock to my system. Butter is also a commonly used ingredient, however the food is awesome so I am not complaining. I love that there is a neighborhood convenience shop and tailor a few feet away from my homestay, just like in Nigeria. Stray dogs are abundant here. Cows in India are like goats in Nigeria, in other words, everywhere; except here the cows are not eaten. I was walking to my host’s house one day and two cows where walking side by side towards me on the street. They were huge; I decided to walk around them instead of in between them, slightly intimidating. Anyway, off to Dharamshala for the weekend where the Dalai Lama lives! Check this post again tomorrow, I will put up pics.  Its too dark outside right now. GE DIGITAL CAMERA Some Dehradun neighbors

