I went to the Taj Mahal by myself this weekend.  I took a day trip to a place that is 12 hours away. lol.  There are not many words.  It is breathtakingly beautiful.  The only thing I didn’t like was how readily people want to take advantage and rip you off.  Sometimes I just want to tell these people, you have more money than I do.  Anyway, I tried not to let that bother me.  Pictures are below.

Some brief Taj History:The King who built this had 4 wives of which he enjoyed the second one the most.  She died while giving birth to there 14th child of which unfortunately only 6 survived (the other 3 wives had no children).  The King then built the Taj as a mausoleum for her.  It took 22 years to build.  The King did not want it to take any longer than that because he was 22 years old when he married her, she was 20.   Out of the 6 surviving children, 4 boys 2 girls, the youngest son killed all three older brothers including one of his sisters husbands to attain the throne.  He later imprisoned his father in his castle under the guise of his father spending too much of the public’s money on the Taj Mahal.  His father actually had plans to built another Taj Mahal in black for himself, but his son imprisoned him to prevent this.

GE DIGITAL CAMERAEntrance to the Taj Mahal

GE DIGITAL CAMERATal Mahal GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe Taj Mahal GE DIGITAL CAMERA GE DIGITAL CAMERA GE DIGITAL CAMERA GE DIGITAL CAMERAMe chilling on the Taj, contemplating life

GE DIGITAL CAMERAEntrance to Agra Fort or The King’s castle (the King who built the Taj Mahal-others before him and after him as well)

GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe King’s house GE DIGITAL CAMERAThe intricate designs and detail are jaw dropping

GE DIGITAL CAMERAThese baboons where everywhere at the Taj.  I am told they are dangerous but I think they are used to tourists GE DIGITAL CAMERAView of the Taj from Agra Fort.  You could always see the Taj from almost any window in Agra Fort facing that direction

GE DIGITAL CAMERAWhere the King was imprisoned  This was a room in Agra Fort but he could leave the room and walk the palace.  He could also go to the Mosque built next to the Taj Mahal and visit his wife’s gave at the Taj every Friday.  It was more of a house arrest.

I thought of going to Jaipur next weekend.  Not sure if I will.  We’ll see.

